Thoughts on Thanksgiving

November 21, 2006 at 8:54 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

Despite sleeping in, I feel I’ve been productive today. __>I did’t take this sunset pic>

I got a bunch of envelopes and prepped a bunch of letters I’ve been meaning to mail, and got a whole ton of spices for thanksgiving dinner. I got like 33 items- mainly spices, sugars, dry baking items. I was watching the history channel while I was writing out the list of new spices i had so that I could know what I need for the recipies I still need to find. 😦
: powdered sugar, brown sugar, baking soda, vegetable and chicken boullion, vanilla, parsley, nutmeg, paprika, oregano, cumin, sea salt and black peppercorn to grind, cloves, cinnamon, cayenne, pumpkin spice, ginger, sage, rosemary, and thyme: I think I’m set, but if I need anything I get to go to the market spice or cost plus by the pike place market. yippee!
anyhow, it was cool what they were saying, how thanksgiving is a time of charity. It also said that in the beginning of the time of thanksgiving, americans were striving to discover and cultivate piety and industry.
To be American means a lot of things, since the proud and free Indian once roamed the open prarie, warring or making peace, long before these customs and holidays were established.
together indians and settlers shared and partook of the bountry of the earth and the fruits of their respective communities to have peace, cherish bounty, enjoy friends, and give thanks.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

