Art for the masses

November 24, 2008 at 7:41 pm | Posted in vlog | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With the economy struggling and public institutions struggling to keep up their basic programs, its no wonder that the art world has had to resort to some creative measures to deal with the ripple effect of our financial woes.

RUSSIA-ENTERTAIMENT-ART-CULTURE-ABRAMOVICH

The girlfriend of a Russian billionaire is putting up a public television screen, so that even the homeless people can enjoy a moment to wonder if modern art is still relevant day to day life. She is 26, and the new Center for Contemporary Culture Moscow has the distinct honor of being called her brainchild.

AFP/Getty Images

By the way, modern art is one of my google alerts, and I’m surprised I get as many news articles for that as I do for contemporary art. I’ll have to do some more research into this strange phenomenon, I wonder how much overlap there is and what the feelings are in the art world. When I get enough readers to do a poll, I’ll ask the art world.

This article in the International Herald Tribune that conjectures about art sales at Miami Art Basel makes me laugh when it says, “its a buyer’s market.” Um, when has art not been? While I dig this website SuperTouchArt, I’m a little hesitant to agree with some of their commentary, especially when they talk about Street Art’s 15 minutes of fame as being over. In the larger context, it represents a new genre.Some cities are going to far as to protect non-commissioned public art.

brazil-street-art

Art and society are so intertwined I think it’s premature to say that one trend in art is no longer important because the art world has now acknowledged it. Isn’t the art world all about interpretation? I’ll actually be happy when a publication like Art News (they refer to it as a perennial yawner) starts writing about the new forms of art. I was going to do my next blog on art and religion, I have to go dig up those articles today. I got sidetracked and got this idea for this post, but Art & religion, will be the topic my next post.

Btw, I reported on something the same day they did! I guess my timing is right on. But the pressure is on.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

