The First Day: Art Basel Miami Beach

December 4, 2008 at 9:29 am | Posted in 1 | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today is the official opening of Miami Art Basel. Forecast : tepid art sales and winds out of the northwest.

I really like some of the cool blogs that come through the inbox with up to date images and blogs from this years’ art Basel. I don’t always get a chance to open the link when I get it, so I see it twice, and when I get to a computer, I can check it out if it catches my eye.

I’ve decided to hit you with the day by day play of all interesting things related to Miami Art Basel. Its only a week, so it won’t be that bad. And it’ll be interspersed with other art stuff and the musings of my day to day life.

picture-61


Photo by SHIFT

While I can’t say that I find some of the coverage on the online version of the New York Mag to be terribly compelling, it appears that they will be posting frequently, and there are good photos if you like pretty pictures, so you can check in here for ongoing rundown of the major events. But we have way more interesting sources than this. This will be a fun week. Some websites do a better job than others at giving you a good run-down of events.

When I’m not passing over articles that are little more than tourism ads and coverage on the lavish fashion shows and over the top parties that accompany this week in Miami Beach, I stumble across nifty little sites like Art Lurker, a contemporary art blog from none other than Miami! The current article definitely caught my eye, because the artist he is featuring has some art that borders on being architecture pieces, and in some cases are hard to discern from a part of the environment. Does that price of the art come with installing? ;->

This is another example of a major newspaper publishing less-than-exceptional writing and commentary, but its still entertaining. Is some of the art coverage supposed to be like 80s clothes? So bad its good?

If you’ve been following this event for some time and have never attending, wishing you could clad yourself in white and go find the trendiest people in town, fear not, because these pages will give you an idea of what happens every year, so you can plan what sort of Miami Art Basel you can enjoy.There are plenty of local blogs you can check out if you’re not sure what’s good and want to hit the best restaurants and bars, knowing what to expect ahead of time. Many restaurants and hotels want to make the most of this week to energize their opening.

brosia

Thankfully, the fair has attracted enough fanfare that you can find some curious and hopefully irresistible art, people and experiences. Perhaps, one day, our artists or your humble host can enjoy such a pleasure?

One of the odder things I came across was a sand castle, but no mention of an artist. Granted, Hotel Chatter is not an art site, but even the internet is picking up on the flurry of action generated by this katamari known at Miami Art Basel.  Luckily, I was able to come across info on the artist on another site. The alcohol soaked art lovers are going to have a hard time discerning between art and fluff already, I think this will only add to the confusion, but will invariably draw a crowd.

I’m not an art expert to know everything but I usually do have an opinion on those things I do know! I feel passionately about art, and I hope I can focus on that more than the forces that oppose its creation and enjoyment. I decided to get a book on Modern Art, so that I could view art from the objective standpoint, and last night I was reading about subjectivity in an introduction to the subject in this very respected book on Modern Art, which is followed by some letters or commentary by the artist in question, and what it means. Its interesting because I wasn’t aware of the term, but I understood what artists like Gauguin and Cezanne did in their treatment of innocuous concepts, peasants in a field, the pattern of a tropical sarong on an exotic Venus.

gauguin

I read some of these comments on art, and I wonder where the cumulative effect of the history of art is in this contemporary world.

Consider the possibilities what this art fair could mean without the distractions. Why not a roundtable discussion on art? Lectures, really critical discussion? I would love to venture such a discussion in a place where so many creative minds are gathered.

Guaguin Self Portait

I’m the last one to comment on what a museum director might have to say to help you interpret the events at Miami Art Basel, so you can read it for yourself and decide. Even restaurants are getting in the fun, sporting Art Basel themed cocktails. You will be supporting a good cause if you buy the book mentioned in the article, so check it out!

Miami New Times has an online blog that shows us the future of what the streets will look like during Miami Art Basel. As if you weren’t already surrounded by enough that was Basel, this will take it to that new, scary level.

lightposts

These signs/art would compete with all the other art and art related things vying for your attention. The art ubiquitous, really bright and frankly, a little scary. Do they need to put one on every single lightpost? I think the overall concept is ok, but the number of them would be too much, It would only add the Las Vegas-like atmosphere that pervades the city during this momentous week.

I got a breaking news release on the future of Art Basel Miami Beach and its location for the next three years. What city will it go to next?

Welcome to my nightmare is a fitting name the latest entry in a very intellectual art blog. The sheer number of links makes it mention worthy of inclusion. If it gets my attention, you will hear about it! I blogged about art radio at Art Basel, and found more than one other entry about it, for those of you that just can’t get enough, and need it now. If I can find time I will listen to some of the radio on art basel, and will also be checking into this blog for updates, the authors are from LA, we’ll see what they have to say!

In 24 hours, I will be enjoying an arte event as well, but it will be of a more subdued nature. I plan to really enjoy it.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

