Day Two : Basel Pulse

December 5, 2008 at 2:37 pm | Posted in Miami Art Basel, Music, Life, Art, News, Travel Updates, Upcoming Events | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Interestingly, so many of the references I find in my as-it-breaks art alert are taking me to financial sites, I end up reading strange documents about the long-term viability of Turkish Painting as an investment, or the strange hotel industry web sites that are reporting on the secondary effects felt on the tourism industry when an event like Miami Art Basel manages to avoid straining its already wide financial girth. Its no secret that wherever Art Basel goes, collectors and their whimsy will follow. Gridskipper is a travel site but has a nice Art Basel guide with maps and tons of info, a nice refreshing treatment of the events.

I’d been coming across articles about the new Frost Museum more than once in the past week, but its popped up enough times that I have to mention it once more. If you want to go see the new museum along with all the other strange shiny things to enjoy in Miami during Art Basel 2008, check out this article on Examiner.com for info on the events and how you can get there via shuttles this week. Her partner at the Examiner is also covering the event.

artwalk_girls

This photo could be something out of Miami Art Basel. These colorful characters were on hand last night at 619 Western, where SEA SHOW artist Dr. JohnnyWOW! was showing, as were scores of other attractive young art zombies. It was a good time, so I’ll be sure to blog about it very soon! There are a lot of good looking people, but sometimes I wonder if the Art Basel Miami Beach is like the artwalk, lots of traffic, little substance. Some of us here in Seattle are fighting the good fight, perhaps its not a bleak as it seems.

Photo by Tim V.

With so much conflicting information about the Contemporary Art World, I’m afraid your humble host can be of no help. I can only offer you information that seems to discredit other forecasts and impressions of the market for Contemporary Art. Like the record sale of a Suerat, conflicting with the latest statistics from Sotheby’s about sales trends in the Contemporary Art market.

Those that have the means will undoubtedly make the trip to Miami to be a part of a year of flux for an Contemporary Art market which seems just as incomprehensible as some of its visions. Its a smart time to travel, especially from Europe, so smart collectors undoubtedly factored all these elements in and likely decided to attend the Miami Art Basel.

Smart collectors know that there will be some great art on hand. If they have the time and opportunity, they will come here to seek that art and be a part of a scene that repeats itself year after year. Its like all my tech friends and MacWorld, they can’t resist.

The sheer variety of links I see daily really make the who blogging process pretty fun and easy! I’m committed to it, so its a matter of deciding what amuses or interests me the most, and passing it onto you! That’s right, you too can experience the shimmering effulgence. This is an art blog, so I can be a little creative, right?

Everyone is reporting on Art Basel, from news about the parties, to celebrities that were seen out and about, the buyers attitudes, you can practically blog about a dozen or more topics related to this event and not cover it all. The possibilities are endless.

Art by Naoto Hattori

for-gotten-lands-craola-simkins-pics-no2_b

This week we want some structure, so its going to be all Art Basel, all the time, but for just this week. See it through the eyes of a visitor of who revels in the convergence of art and luxury in his blog. I am not promoting any particular links or sites or events, just trying to give you a variety of information, choices, and pretty pictures for your delight.

I really like the SuperTouch site, so much that I have to restrain myself from including links all the time. I like the art in this show, because its fun and colorful and so am I, but for some reason the pics are grainy. That’s no fun. Check out another cool blog with info on the paintings Marilyn Manson is displaying.

While I normally think an artist is no longer undiscovered when the local media picks up on it, I am nontheless intrigued by this CasaLin, which is a private property that has a portion designated as an art gallery.

As I had mentioned before, anything that involves forging into new art territory, melding forms, blurring lines, that’s where I want to be. This won’t be the last time you hear one of my many mantras. One of my other is simply, Support the Arts! Which of course we love to do. Which also leads to the fringe artist feeling of fascination and revulsion at what the art world is today, its essence personified in Miami Art Basel. Granted, this is an international event which I have never attended in any continent, so admire me for my guileless efforts, or illuminate me so that I can offer more concise rambles.

Let me assure you, my intentions are honorable and my blogs are far from scathing. If you’re as smart as I know you are, you’ll understand and hopefully be invoked to think or act about art! :->

So surely the investors have been doing their work today and are aware of or attended the art sales held at Sotheby’s, they know that there are still big sales being made but that this is a pivotal year for Contemporary Art, so this only adds to the intrigue that is fermented at this event.

If the radio and blog updates just aren’t giving you enough of what you need, thing being art basel, you can check out some video. This is an oft-visited site I’m sure, but its new to me, and on my radar. Looks interesting.

Aside from a usual run down of events going on this weekend, I must say I am surprised to find out that some think that my daily coverage of Art Basel is from first hand experience?

Yes, some kind souls reached out to me after hearing my anguished words of truth. Karma, in an ocean of joy. I will definitely to keep an eye on other reporters from Seattle in their adventures in Art Basel Miami Beach 2008! SlamHype is an art & music blog I’ve noticed recently, they like SuperTouch too but I like the diverse effort on this site, it has random goodies about Art Basel and links to music. Again, not a lot of time to check out a ton of the links, but it looked good from what I saw.

From when I heard about this event, I wanted it for artists that have opened their art to our organization, and my blog this week is my way of touching the event on behalf of those awesome artists I work with.  I hate to disappoint my readers, but your jet-setting author does not have Miami Art Basel on her social calendar this week. I do have up to the moment updates on articles related to the event and modern art that I see throughout the day, so I hope I have my finger on a current that is helpful and interesting to my readers and artists I work with.

Let me briefly diverge from Art Basel to give you an update on an ongoing saga that the art world in America has been watching closely. We had news of an announcement a week ago about the bailout, and ever since then the art world has been waiting for news about the fate of Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art.  The stalemate in a descision to accept the gift has prompted the donor of the gift to try to reassure the museum. As we wait for other potential donors to step forward, you can be sure that however this art drama resolves, it will be interesting.

What do you think about our Art Basel coverage? Am I onto something? Are you bored yet? The blog overall? Email the author, and tell us how you feel, or give us a hi-5 with an encouraging comment! We like you too.

My next post will have some images and video from my night at artwalk.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

