Day Three: Art Basel Miami Vice

December 6, 2008 at 12:42 pm | Posted in Miami Art Basel, Music, Life, Art, News, Upcoming Events | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There was not as much Art Basel action for you, maybe all the private parties start now, and there will be less public events, or everyone is too hungover to keep up with the reporting  while they’re enjoying the week at Miami Art Basel.

Art Observed is a sleek art blog that got my attention today with its clean commentary and pics. Another New York site is getting my notice as well for its nice photos and tasteful coverage. I am assuming my discerning art readers know or visit most of the links I include.

Contemporary Art is often colorful, and I like virtually strolling through the galleries with nice slideshows of the event I happen to stumble onto.

Despite gloomy predications, this article on ArtInfo gives the impression that sales are steady at Art Basel Miami Beach. Why anyone would be surprised that die hard collectors would be the last to pass on this opportunity to get valuable art with fewer buyers to drive up the price is beyond me. Even if you don’t follow art news, its no secret that art is still a solid investment. On the other hand, an entry in the Miami Herald downplays the brou haha and one of its articles focuses on the subdued sales at Art Basel Miami Beach 2008.

Like so many arts, the events and news are open to interpretation, and the week isn’t over yet. I can’t say that I have a ton of experience with reporting on large art fairs, but I try my best. I can only pray that my wit and charm carry me through it gracefully.

I’ve been seeing and hearing a lot in the press about design and Art. If you’re in the hip locale of Dubai, then you will want to visit this opening. Fans of Hans Jean Arp that can make it to France this month can enjoy the opening of his work in Strausberg, which will have over 180 peices on display.

arp

Art by Hans Jean Arp


Pakistan has got an artist whose work I really enjoy, Mashkoor Raza reminds me of an artist who explores similar concepts like power and whose art work also has a lot of nudes, Seattle’s own Dr. JohnnyWOW!. In China, the alarm is more pronounced, and the situation for contemporary art looks bleak, at least for the bad artists, according to this article.

It might be a week-long hangover for many attendees, but its important to get around, talk to people, and really try to make something out of the week. Tomorrow is the mid-point, so it’ll be interesting to read and report on the commentary at days’ end.

I would be most impressed if one day the art world hosted a roundtable, for dealing with all the uncertainty, questions, and disputes in the art world. Drama is definitely good, but to what point? Maybe some like to end their year with a kick. I for one, wish for nothing more than quietude during this time of year. I want to experience nature and absorb everything that’s happening. I’ve split my time between two states for over a year and sometimes I just wish the world would slow down for me. My growth depends on reflection and thought, not just action. I want to enjoy art, not just mechanilly produce it. I love this project, and some of the most blissful moments I have had, we doing just this. Living the Arte Vivant, full of vigor and a open vision of a bright future, optimistic for the future of art, and the importance of the supporting deserving artists.

Like so many random artists I find and think would be perfect for the show, PosterBoy is your odd pick of the day. Pretty cool public/underground art.

war-is-the-new-black

Art by Poster Boy

It seems like there’s always a new twist in the discussion over the fate of MOCA, a Contemporary Art museum whose fate and challenges are the concern of one of the largest metropolitan communities in the nation, that of Los Angeles.

I will have to report on the art show I took part in/filmed Thursday at the Seattle Artwalk in another post since this is devoted to one of the biggest events in the American Art scene, Art Basel Miami Beach. If you can’t make it to Miami this year, but happen to be in Quebec, you can check out this exhibit at an opening of Contemporary Art.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

